For the love of batik


I love batik print. My earliest memory of batik was a silk scarf that my mum had. Very recently, I had a cotton bright green and yellow batik kaftan that I wore at home during my late stages of pregnancy and also a special batik cot canopy gifted by a friend from Malaysia for my newborn.

The best thing about batik is that it works on natural organic fabric.. The traditional batik printing using the wax resistant technique is a very ancient method. It originates in the far-east. This form of printing is almost an art form, similar to pottery or ceramics, but I wonder if the art critics consider batik as one.

Even though these fabrics are printed these days instead of using the traditional wax resistant technique, the prints are still unique and very colourful. The technique of tjaping using a copper block is the answer to mass production of batik printing.

I have always been very fond of the batik print. I am so delighted to use silk batik prints for my new winter collection of children’s dresses. They make the dresses very unique and colourful. The main colours used in my new collection are various shades of red and green with a splash of white and purple here and there. One of my twitter friends Joanne Waltham has suggested the name ‘Tomato and Olive’ and I instantly loved it. Thanks Joanne. So I would call the collection ‘T&O 2010’ in short.

Leave a Reply

